Skip to content

WILL UN CIVILISATION THINK ABOUT IT?

May 12, 2010

This is a different blog. An official of the AL Foundation, which supported the conference in Alexandria was repeatedly saying in his concluding remarks that he was not expecting about the colour of his tie or something like that but something remarkable from the journalists participating there. Most of the journalists specially three teams did well- should say- fulfilled that expectations writing high quality journalistic reports (joint reports). Others attempted.

But here is a different story. A story of the UN. How does UN Civilisation work?
One friend wrote dozens of emails to get 152 dollars from the UN. Only a few participants got the money but majority did not. Some friends asked me if I got money from the UN then I remembered what we were told before the conference.

We were told to fill Vendors Form just a few days before the conference in Alexandria. I got some emails and 3 telephone calls from the UNOPS to send my bank details as soon as possible as if they are going to put money in my account immediately. I did quickly. We all thought that the UN is going to provide some amount immediately- at least before the conference. But they provided some amount to some of the friends and most of us even did not know. I was the one who spent highest amount of money for the Alexandria conference because of the expensive visa fee in the UK, travel to London and Heathrow airport. But We (I) did not expect anything from the UN.

When some of the friends repeatedly asked me if I had got any money from the UN then I too send emails asking to reimburse my expenses. Some said it will be paid soon. One official of the UNOPS wrote ” you need to prove that you attended the conference and present boarding pass, receipt and all evidence to claim the expenses.” I replied. They needed evidence of our participation in Alexandria conference. How to prove that I attended the conference? I told them that Daanish and Emanuel are the witness. Do I need to tell more?

Then again there was the same email. ” We need Vendor’s form.” I sent it again. The reply was: ” We have got your form and payment will be made shortly.”

Then what happened? Can you guess? Then a long form attached in the email was sent to me which was not necessary for us, definitely it was meant for the UN officials to claim for their huge expenses.

I sent email requesting I am not claiming anything but I want to know whether it is meant only for some or for all. It is a matter of ” transparency” and “justice.”

I closed the chapter saying it is better to stop it and not to waste time emailing to the UN officials.

I am collecting all the emails to send it to senior officials of the UN within a few days time because I want to know the reason why it was for some and not for all.

When they paid for some of the friends why don’t they do the things quickly to others.

This is not a matter of “money” but this shows how our UN works. I am not concerned about my expenses as it was meaningless compared to the conference and friends we met there- but I am worried about the way our UN works.

Can it deliver- not our expectation- but the hope and expectation of 6 billion people?

Lets awake UN! Make it more transparent, effective and less bureaucratic.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sasa Milosevic permalink
    May 12, 2010 4:23 pm
  2. Sasa Milosevic permalink
    May 12, 2010 4:36 pm
  3. Chiranjibi permalink
    May 12, 2010 4:40 pm

    This is not about money Sasa but the nature of such organisation.

    • Sasa Milosevic permalink
      May 12, 2010 5:50 pm

      Chiran
      As no one reacts it means that all recieved money.

  4. Sundus Rasheed permalink
    May 13, 2010 12:58 am

    I have to admit – I have not received any money from the UN.
    But the fact that some participants were reimbursed and some weren’t is just ridiculous – regardless of the number of emails sent. It seems to be a case of the loudest, sternest voice getting paid off.
    The UN processed and paid for our flights and boarding – surely they know who was attending the conference.

Leave a Reply

