Skip to content

[Poll] What about our Feb 15-17 conference are you most looking forward to?

February 5, 2010
15 Comments leave one →
  1. ritrovai permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:06 pm

    I am really looking forward to meeting the other participants and discussing contemporary issues in digital information sharing and topics in freedom of information.

    Amanda WilsonCreate Your Badge

  2. asma76 permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:30 pm

    I” M so excited to start work with my colleagues at conference

  3. 3antar permalink
    February 6, 2010 4:13 am

    It is a pleasure to be part of this interesting conference, and it’ll be my honor to meet the participants and the staff. My name is Mohammed Antar, Lebanese Journalist, i basically work on International affairs at Future News TV, one of the leading news tv in Lebanon and the region. I’m also a freelance journalist at “now Lebanon”, a leading news website, and for AL-Liwaa Newspaper. Looking forward to meet you and to benefit from your experiences.

  4. February 6, 2010 4:37 am

    I Saadia Sehar Haidari work as Video journalist in Geo Independent Media Corporation Pakistan , Freelance Correspondent and Feature writer .I started my professional life as journalist since 1997. According my career I started from Nikhar weekly Urdu Newspaper as reporter/sub-editor then I joined Reuters in 1st Dec 2001.After one an half year I switch over in Visual News agency in 2003. I worked three years as senior correspondent in Visual news agency then I joined Associated Press of Pakistan (APP) in as feature writer/reporter/photo-journalist. At some stage in my career I highlighted many sensitive social issues through my features and reports. Parliament of Pakistan has been taken serious notice over that issues which I highlight such as harassment issue for working ladies at work place. Likewise, I have been given my service to UNDP as lead mental, UNICEF,ICRC, Arabic, Hong Kong News magazine and IDI Project of UK. Currently I am working with Geo TV Independent media Corporation as cameraperson and making documentaries. I am the first lady photojournalist and cameraperson of media in Pakistan.
    I face many challenges in my career life to get the key of my goals. I am doing my M.Phil in Mass Communication. I am widow, my husband Aziz Ullah Haidari who was correspondent of Reuter’s news agency. He was killed by Taliban in 19 November 2001 at Afghanistan with three other foreigner journalists. One was Spanish journalist, one was Italian lady journalist and one was Australian journalist.
    Recently I gained more skills in last training session of ICFJ” Freedom of Expression in the Digital Age” It is really very useful for me I learnt many new things such as how to change the negative ideology into positive and how to stop the violence with your positive writing. How do we improve our writing skills? In that session one more interesting thing that was the new digital innovation for our profession. I hope that you will provide us more fresh and relevant thing in coming session.

  5. February 6, 2010 5:54 am

    I Saadia Sehar Haidari work as Video journalist in Geo Independent Media Corporation Pakistan , Freelance Correspondent and Feature writer .I started my professional life as journalist since 1997. According my career I started from Nikhar weekly Urdu Newspaper as reporter/sub-editor then I joined Reuters in 1st Dec 2001.After one an half year I switch over in Visual News agency in 2003. I worked three years as senior correspondent in Visual news agency then I joined Associated Press of Pakistan (APP) in as feature writer/reporter/photo-journalist. At some stage in my career I highlighted many sensitive social issues through my features and reports. Parliament of Pakistan has been taken serious notice over that issues which I highlight such as harassment issue for working ladies at work place. Likewise, I have been given my service to UNDP as lead mental, UNICEF,ICRC, Arabic, Hong Kong News magazine and IDI Project of UK. Currently I am working with Geo TV Independent media Corporation as cameraperson and making documentaries. I am the first lady photojournalist and cameraperson of media in Pakistan.I face many challenges in my career life to get the key of my goals. I am doing my M.Phil in Mass Communication.
    Recently I gained more skills in last training session of ICFJ” Freedom of Expression in the Digital Age” It is really very useful for me I learnt many new things such as how to change the negative ideology into positive and how to stop the violence with your positive writing. How do we improve our writing skills? In the session one more interesting thing that was the new digital innovation for our profession. I hope that you will provide us more fresh and relevant thing in coming session.

  6. February 7, 2010 1:24 pm

    Hi, I am really looking forward to all aspects of this conference, especially networking with other journalists from exotic places and countries that I would usually have little access to.

    I am just wondering when we will receive more information about the conference, its content and speakers/teachers, as well as a list of participants and… some more logistical information such as which hotel we will be staying in for the duration of our stay…….

    Any such information would be enlightening and welcomed….. it would also make this wonderful opportunity seem much more real!

    Hope to see you all next week
    Ruth E.

    • Amer permalink
      February 8, 2010 11:38 am

      Well I guess you must have known by now as to where the participants would be staying. I received a mail from UN guys telling that the venue is a Windsor Palace Hotel. If you haven’t received a mail yet, lemme know your email address and I can forward you.

      Hope to see you guys reaching for the big show without any hassles.

      Amer Farooq

    • February 8, 2010 11:50 am

      Amer is correct about the hotel. the bios of the speakers are posted on our main conference web site: http://www.icfj.org/foeda and the agenda will be there as soon as it is finalized.

      We’re snowed in here in Washington under almost a meter of snow and looking forward to some warm weather in Egypt!

      • Amer permalink
        February 8, 2010 11:16 pm

        Mail forwarded you too Ruth.

        See you

  7. Elisa Di Benedetto permalink
    February 9, 2010 3:18 am

    Hi, I’m really looking forward to meeting my colleagues from other countries and sharing insights and experiences.

    I feel this is a wonderful opportunity to experience and improve my knowledge and usage of digital tools.

    See you in Alexandria,
    Elisa

  8. February 9, 2010 11:05 am

    I though that I had posted a comment two days ago but I don’t see it so I’ll try again.

    I’m a photojournalist but I have been known to write on occasion, usually when there’s an issue I believe the newspaper has missed or when the newspaper wants to send one person to write and photograph, instead of sending two. Cost saving measure, you know.

    It’s an understatement to say I’m looking forward to the conference. This is a rare opportunity to engage in dialogue and share our experiences with journalists of such diverse backgrounds.

    See you in Alexenadria.

    Bill Schaefer

Leave a Reply

